Twitter

22/09/17

Congratulations Yr1 & Rec children sharing fabulous achievements in our first celebration assembly this year https://t.co/Aw7mU1EtD3

18/09/17

Detectives in Gruffalo class are on the hunt for a monster! https://t.co/8fT2LoVRMC

14/09/17

Retweetd From Tes

'Spending a couple hours a week reading with your children allows you to spend true quality time with them' https://t.co/sPjGPaXv85

13/09/17

We're having a 'gloriumptious' morning celebrating Roald Dahl day at HPAPW https://t.co/kGRqhimdGQ

12/09/17

Reception children in Gruffalo class settling in brilliantly on their second day https://t.co/W9kf8jAgN7

11/09/17

Year 1 children inspired by Dutch artist Mondrian this afternoon. https://t.co/9VqYPvr0qJ

10/09/17

We're very excited to be welcoming our new cohort of Reception children (Gruffalo class) in the morning.

07/09/17

Thank you for coming to say hello. Children were very excited to meet you. Look forward to seeing you again soon https://t.co/1xCc16iTa6

06/09/17

We're all very excited to be welcoming our Year 1 Beegu class tomorrow at 8.45am. We have missed you. See you soon.

06/09/17

Retweetd From Your Croydon

Did you know you can apply for admissions to from today? Visit https://t.co/ChHuIK5oyM

06/09/17

Teachers enjoying phonics ReadWriteInc training today in our fabulous new hall. https://t.co/62BPTWIeYZ

05/09/17

We are super excited to welcome new Reception children to our teddy bears picnic today. Don't forget your bear and packed lunch

20/08/17

Retweetd From Education Week Jobs

Midday Meals Supervisor required at https://t.co/EtyKMpKUeB

14/08/17

Retweetd From Harris Careers

Are you looking for part-time work in ? Why not apply for a midday meal supervisor role ? https://t.co/EtsYFGRzYI https://t.co/zOkJFMDvjg

12/08/17

Retweetd From Tes

65 per cent of primary children will ultimately end up working in jobs that don’t yet exist, says report https://t.co/gTIOVdjYYB https://t.co/6KVw8Csv3X

18/07/17

you too and we can't wait to welcome everyone back in September in your beautiful new building.

18/07/17

As we welcome our summer holiday we reminisce on the past year; our trip to Bocketts farm most recent in our mind! https://t.co/2q5irGRyvz

18/07/17

Hi, sorry for late reply. We open the new build in September for Rec & Year 1. Open mornings from Sep on Wednesdays @ 10am

03/07/17

Children enthusiatically wrote a wish for their butterflies before releasing them this morning. https://t.co/dFlpnJ4OUj

21/06/17

Retweetd From Laura Henry

https://t.co/gWuAB6lfdI

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

Head of Academy Termly Review

How time flies!  The end of our first year at HPAPW

At the beginning of the year we introduced our school values ‘REACH’ to parents and children.  These values have been the bedrock in our approach to everything we do, to ensure our school community is driving forwards together as one to achieve our vision of ‘Excellence for All’.

Resilience - Wow what an incredible first year!  Looking back to the beginning of the year and reflecting on when we welcomed new families and watched children full of anticipation, excitement (and a maybe a little concern) enter their classroom for the first time, it is amazing to think how far we have ventured.   Friendships have been securely forged and a Harris Primary Academy Purley Way community firmly established, ignited by the evolvement of a passionate and dedicated PTA who strive tirelessly to provide our children with fun end of term events such as the cultural day, the Easter Bonnet parade and the end of year disco.   I think we can proudly agree this year may have had a few challenges but we have all shown remarkable resilience to overcome them and children are thriving.

Empathy - It has been hugely heart-warming to witness the altruism of our community.  With ‘Empathy’ being one of our school values, we have made it one of our aims to teach children about those less fortunate than ourselves.  This year we have collected a staggering amount of money for various charities; over £500 has been divided between Children in Need, Crisis, Save the Children, Readathon and Home Start Croydon.  Pupil Parliament played a key role in developing various ways to raise money such as organising ‘Sportathon’, which all children thoroughly enjoyed taking part in. 

Achievement – Achievement is measured in various ways depending on needs and abilities, whether it be academic achievement, sporting achievement, social achievement, personal achievement or emotional achievement.  At HPAPW we always place the child and their needs at the centre.  We have taken pride in getting to know each of your children as individuals to ensure that each child progresses to achieve milestones in their academic, physical, personal, social and emotional development. As one parent reflected on their child’s report, ‘It has been incredible to watch my son develop confidence to move beyond holding a pencil, to writing his name, to writing sentences, to writing stories all by himself; thank you to all the teachers and staff at HPAPW.’

Courage – Like resilience we have observed children demonstrating a great deal of courage throughout the year; from starting school, going on public transport for the first time, performing in a nativity in front of strangers and even when coming to school feeling under the weather because they want to achieve 100% attendance. 

As the school is evolving, we think our value of courage should also evolve.  We believe children now understand how courage is linked to resilience and its importance.  Therefore, from September will be introducing a new value for the letter ‘C’.  C will now stand for Communication.  From September we will be recognising, reflecting and celebrating how children and adults communicate with one another.  For example, establishing reasoning techniques rather than displaying anger in disagreements.  We will focus on how we can show kindness, compassion and understanding using body language and facial expressions.  We will understand the importance of listening, when communicating, to become informed global citizens and we will master reasoning and debating skills to ensure our voice is heard.

Honesty – As children have been united in a class with twenty-nine other classmates for the first time it has been very important for children to develop a strong sense of honesty in order for them to become valued and trusted friends to others.  As a community we have instilled the concept that we are a team and teams need to work together and look after each other.  In addition to this we have created a culture whereby children feel safe to be honest if they are struggling or if they feel lonely or worried.  We have also placed high expectations on children to be honest when they have made a wrong choice and have asked children to reflect on negative behaviour versus behaviour expectations of our golden rules.  Children have been very impressive in creating a sense of right and wrong within their own environment and luckily we have had very few incidents regarding dishonest behaviour throughout the year.  I think this is testament to how united we are as a community (children, parents and staff), as one voice working together for the benefit of everyone.  I truly believe that our values have stood us in good stead for the future in continuing to create ‘Excellence for All’.

Now it is time that we say goodbye to the basic but loyal porta-cabins as we advance towards a palatial new state of the art building in September and welcome the arrival of a new cohort of excitable children preparing to take on their first year at primary school.  Exciting times ahead with lots of new adventures to be had and friends to be made!

We look forward to welcoming you back:

Beegu ( Year 1 class)  Thursday 7th September 8.45am – 3.30pm

Gruffalos (Reception class) Monday 11th September 9am – 12pm

Have a fantastic and safe summer, Jane Robinson, Head of Academy